About us

Cycling the Green route to the Mediterranean sea in 2016

We are Katrina and Tim and our home base is in Rotterdam in the Netherlands. We like all kinds of adventures: bicycle touring, hiking, camping, bushcraft, and exploring different cultures. Through our blog we like to share our adventures, experience and advice. It might help you or inspire you to do something similar!

Tim

Tim is a 29-year old cheese head from the Netherlands, and has always loved sports and camping. He remembers getting his first tent from his parents when he was a little boy and how proud and happy he was! He really likes to figure out how things work and the best way is to discover it yourself, try things, and make mistakes. He has spent quite a few summers camping nearby the North Sea, making fires, collecting sticks to bake bread with, and playing superman on the beach.

Tim cycling in Morocco in 2017

In the recent years he has been getting more into hiking, mountainbiking (yes it is even possible in the flat Netherlands), bushcraft, and bicycle touring. He also really likes to play the piano, go to concerts, comedy, and hang out with his friends.

Kate

Born and raised in Latvia, but the last seven years she has been living in the Netherlands. Since a very young age she loves and has a passion for the outdoors. She grew up spending most of the summers in her grandparents’ summerhouse in the Latvian countryside, being close to nature: swimming in rivers, picking up berries and mushrooms in the forest, wild camping and cross country skiing. Since then not much has changed, she still loves the outdoors, an active lifestyle, adventures and traveling.

Kate cycling in Morocco in 2018

Kate has always been a dreamer, curious, adventurous, and a little bit rebellious. Her first solo trip was when she was 5 years old and decided to have a look on the other side of the nursery’s fence. Her trip was short and she was safely returned into her parents’ hands, but her curiosity to see the world grew and her adventurous soul was awoken. Up till now she has seen most of Europe (32 countries) and is ready to see the rest of the world.

When she was 23 years old, she decided to step out of her comfort zone by moving to the Netherlands with a backpack to follow master studies in Nijmegen. “This was one of the scariest and hardest, but yet one of the best choices in my life! I am very thankful for the lessons I have learned, for all the people I have met and all the adventure I have gotten myself in to”.

She currently works at the biggest outdoor company in the Netherlands, called Bever. Besides her love for adventures and traveling, she loves cooking, reading, comedy and hanging out with her friends, family and colleagues.